News‎ > ‎

First R12 Negosyo Center Launched in Gensan

posted May 14, 2015, 11:53 PM by Dtiph Rehiyon Dose

The first Negosyo Center in the region was launched in GenSan on May 5, 2015. The newly renovated facility is located at the ground floor of the R.A. Building, South Osmeña St., General Santos City. 

The Department of Trade and Industry Region 12, given its staunch implementation of the Go Negosyo Act (RA 10644), leads the establishment of six Negosyo Centers this year to serve the MSMEs of SOCCSKSARGEN. The Negosyo Centers will be strategically located in key cities across the region to cater to a wider community of local business owners and aspiring entrepreneurs. 

RA 10644 or the “Go Negosyo Act” aims to establish Negosyo Centers in all provinces, cities and municipalities in the country to promote “ease of doing business” and facilitate access to services for MSMEs within its jurisdiction.

In line with the goal of the Go Negosyo Act which is to strengthen MSMEs throughout the country, the Negosyo Centers shall have the following functions and services:

Business Registration Assistance

* Facilitate business registration and renewal applications of MSMEs including application for Barangay Micro Business Enterprises (BMBE)


Business Advisory Services

* Facilitate access to grants and other forms of financial assistance, including start-up funds for MSMEs

* Assist business owners in meeting regulatory requirements to start and sustain the business

* Create mentoring programs with the aid of private institutions and local chambers


Business Information and Advocacy

* Provide information and services for training, financing and marketing

* Include the participation of the youth through entrepreneurship programs in schools

* Create MSME databank

* Manage other programs related to the MSME development plan


The Negosyo Center in General Santos City will be co-managed by the General Santos City Small and Medium Enterprise Development Council Inc. (GSC-SMEDCI) and the DTI-General Santos City Office.

Proposed sites for the other five Negosyo Centers to be established this year include the cities of Cotabato, Kidapawan, and Tacurong, and the municipalities of Alabel in Sarangani and Surallah in South Cotabato.(Richard Ismael Arceño)